A few essentials

Standard

Every new harp student needs a harp, a teacher, and the following three items to get started with high-quality, easy-to-use products!

You have found my website, so you have already found a teacher. If you don’t already have a harp, I can help you find one to rent, rent-to-own, or purchase. So you have the first two essentials covered!

Now, on to three other things that you will find invaluable as you play the harp.

First of all, harpists spend a lot of time tuning their harps (we hope!), so an accurate tuner that is easier to use is absolutely essential. While there are a lot of chromatic tuners out there, my dear friend, Harper Tasche, recently introduced me to the Snark tuner.

I bought one and was immediately impressed by how easy it is to use. The Snark is easy to read and locks on to pitches quickly for an accurate reading. You can clip it onto your harp somewhere and use the “vib” setting or change it to the “mic” setting and clip it to your music stand. It works well for all kinds of harps and is equally accurate using either setting.  There are other models of Snark tuners also, but this one is fully chromatic for all instruments.

The next thing you need is a comfortable, adjustable bench. Many people just use a standard dining room chair at the harp, and that’s fine if it is comfortable and the right height for you and your harp. However, people come in all shapes and sizes, and so do harps, so I really prefer having a well-padded, adjustable bench that I can use with any of my harps and that is portable. The best bench I’ve found so far is the On-Stage Stands KT7800+ Keyboard Bench.

Adjustable Bench

Another absolutely essential item is a sturdy, portable music stand. My favorite is the Peak Music Stand. It is easy to set up, fully adjustable, very portable, and comes with its own carrying bag. I have used rickety folding aluminum music stands before and had them get knocked over, but I can put a heavy, 3-ring binder full of music on this stand and not have to worry about it.

Peak Music Stand

These are the accessories I use myself, and I recommend them to my students. If you try any or all of them, please let me know what you think by leaving a comment below!

Leave a Reply

